top of page

Savory Pumpkin Hummus & Homemade Whole Wheat Pita Chips

I usually end up with so much extra pumpkin purée in my pantry this time of year, so... prepare yourselves for a few pumpkin inspired recipes (like our Spicy Pumpkin Chili that we posted last week)! This easy pumpkin hummus recipe is great as a snack or to make ahead before Holiday company stops by.

 

Tasty Whole Wheat Pita Chips

I was going to buy pita chips last night at the grocery store because I knew I wanted to make hummus, but I was surprised by how expensive they were for how few you get! So I decided to make my own, and show you how to make your own! I used whole wheat pitas I found in the bakery department that were half the price of the bag of chips and yielded 4x more!

I sliced each pita into 8 wedges and placed them in a large bowl so I could toss them in olive oil and my seasoning. You could also lay chips flat on your cookie sheet and brush the olive oil and seasoning on the wedges instead... but I just have fun tossing it all together, haha!

I mixed my own spices to season the pita chips. I made mine super garlicky with a little bit of smokey heat by using cumin, chili powder, and cayenne pepper.

Once your pita wedges are seasoned perfectly, line them up on your ungreased cookie sheet and bake until they reach your desired crispiness (between 12-15 minutes).

Ingredients:

  • 3 Pitas cut in wedges

  • 4 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

  • 1/2 tablespoon garlic powder

  • 1/2 tablespoon onion powder

  • 1/2 tablespoon cumin

  • 1/2 tablespoon chili powder

  • 1/2 tablespoon dried basil

  • 1/4 tablespoon sea salt

  • 1/4 tablespoon cayenne powder

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 375°

  2. Place wedges in large bowl, add olive oil, and toss

  3. Mix your spices in small bowl and add to large bowl with pita wedges. Toss until wedges are evenly covered with spices

  4. Spread pita wedges on ungreased baking sheet

  5. Bake 12-15 minutes

 

Savory Pumpkin Hummus

I'm a big hummus fan, and my pumpkin hummus recipe is SO simple and very flavorful. It's great with pita chips (obvi), multigrain crackers, raw veggies, salads, and on sandwiches or wraps!

There's really only one step here, combine ingredients and mix until smooth! I used my ninja blade food processor, but you can use a traditional food processor, or a high-speed blender to achieve the same consistency.

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 Cup pumpkin purée (you can use canned pumpkin, but make sure you do not use pumpkin pie filling)

  • 1 15 oz can chickpeas drained and rinsed

  • 2 tablespoons tahini

  • Juice from 1 lemon (about 2 tablespoons)

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil

  • 2 cloves garlic

  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt

  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

  • 1/4 teaspoon paprika

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil to top hummus with

  • Roasted pumpkin seeds to top hummus with

Directions

  1. Combine ingredients in food processor or high-speed blender and blend until smooth (you may need to stop and scrape the sides several times until consistent texture throughout)

  2. Taste and adjust seasonings as needed

  3. Drizzle with remaining tablespoon of olive oil and top with pumpkin seeds

  4. Serve immediately or cover and refrigerate

NOTE: Tahini is a sesame paste that is a staple in mediterranean and middle eastern cuisine. You can usually find it in your "international food" aisle. I shop in a small-town Shop Rite, and actually found it in the organic section, so cruise both aisles!

bottom of page