top of page

Roasted Butternut Squash with Brussel Sprouts, Bacon, and Dried Cranberries.


With Thanksgiving quickly approaching, I wanted to share a variation of one of my favorite Fall/Winter side dishes. The veggies are tossed in a spicy honey dressing before roasting them, and it gives them a lightly sweet and spicy flavor. The bacon is added before serving and is easily omitted to make this a vegetarian friendly dish

Butternut Squash is the perfect side! It's stock full of potassium (which helps alleviate high blood pressure), fiber (which keeps you full and regular), is loaded with vitamin A (hello, healthy eyes) and vitamin C (which keeps your skin healthy and boosts your immune system), as well as iron, folate and zinc (which contribute to good bone health and prevents against osteoperosis.

I love Brussel Sprouts. They're probably my favorite vegetable. If 30 year old me, told that to 10 year old me... I never would have beleived it! Want to know what changed my mind? ROASTING THEM. Seriously.... Roasting brussel sprouts brings out so much delicious flavor, and I think they compliment roasted butternut squash so well!

I tossed the vegetables in the dressing and roasted them together on a single baking sheet. Next time I make this, I will probably roast them on seperate baking sheets because I think the moisture from the squash kept the brussels from carmelizing as much as I prefer, but they still tasted great!

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole butternut squash, peeled, seeded, and cubed

  • 1 lbs brussel sprouts trimmed and halved

  • 4 tablespoona olive oil

  • 1/4 cup raw honey

  • 1 tablespoon Hot Sauce (I used Nandos Peri Peri garlic hot sauce)

  • 4 slices of cooked thick-cut bacon sliced*** optional

  • 1/2 cup no sugar added dried cranberries

  • kosher salt to taste

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400°

  2. Combine butternut squash cubes, and halved brussel sprouts in large bowl

  3. Add in olive oil, honey, and hot sauce. Toss until evenly covered.

  4. Spread squash and brussels in single layer on ungreased baking sheet

  5. Bake for 40-45 minutes (flipping half-way through for even browning)

  6. Toss with cranberries and bacon pieces before serving

bottom of page